Columbia State Students Named to President's List

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – June 3, 2014) - - - There were 48 students named to Columbia State Community College’s president’s list for earning academic honors this spring.

“These students have excelled academically,” said Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president. “Students named to the president’s list maintain an outstanding level of academic performance while managing full-time course loads, often these students are juggling multiple responsibilities including jobs, families and extra-curricular activities. They are to be commended for their hard work and dedication.”

To qualify for the president’s list, students must earn 15 credit hours for the semester with a grade point average of 3.90 – 4.00.

The following students were named to the spring 2014 president’s list:

Brentwood: Cathleen Slavik

Camden: Hayley Smothers

Clarksville: Courtney Burney

Collinwood: Tyler Devers

Columbia: Samantha Brinegar, Cara Czarnik, Victoria Franklin, Lydia Michel, Alexis Miller, James Pegler, Jessica Silva, Gabryel Stepanick and Hayden Wright.

Culleoka: Mark Brasure

Franklin: Caleb Capaldi, Carlos Da Luz, Jonas Funderburk, Gerald Kolts, David Mikrut, Ashlyn Neal, Devin Spann and Mark Tutaj.

Goodlettsville: Paul Kirby

Hampshire: Richard Griffith

Hohenwald: Manuel Lagos

Iron City: Regina Prestage

Lawrenceburg: Jared Belew, Audrey Belt, Logan Kerstiens, Hilari Smith and Megan Watson.

Leoma: Rebecca Curtis

Mount Pleasant: Jonathan Kelley

Nashville: Tammie Garrett and Trevor Patteson

Pulaski: April Gilbert and Levi Koger.

Shelbyville: Katie Fite, Micah Simpkins and Rachel Whaley.

Spring Hill: Joanna Beam, Carsha Bowen and Jessica Kovalchik.

Summertown: Jason Blake Clark

Thompsons Station: Abigail Meek

Waynesboro: Jacob Alhashimi and Zachary Mathis.

Westpoint: Peyton Russ

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee’s first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee’s Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # #

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.